Deleting Connections to Source Systems
On the Metadata Extractions page, you can delete the connection for a source system to the catalog. Once the connection is deleted, all the source system's assets are removed from the catalog. The system is no longer monitored, and metadata extraction of its assets and automatic or scheduled synchronizations stop.
Prerequisites
-
Data Warehouse General (-R------) - To access SAP Datasphere.
-
Catalog System (-RUDE--) - To view, edit, and delete source system connections and manually synchronize source system.
These steps are for deleting connections for asset-only systems. To delete connections for data product-only systems, you must exclude the system from the formation or delete the formation in the SAP BTP cockpit (see Creating SAP Business Data Cloud Formations).
Deleting a Connection to a Source System
Context
Procedure
- In the side navigation area, choose (Catalog & Marketplace) (Metadata Extractions).
- In the Remote Systems table under the Assets Only or Assets and Data Products groups, select the source system you want to delete and choose Delete.
- Review the confirmation dialog, and choose Delete.
Results
The connection for a source system is deleted, its extraction status is updated to Deleted, and all its assets are immediately removed from the catalog. The catalog also stops monitoring the system and stops all automatic or schedule synchronizations.

Select to view the system's details page. The page includes the date the connection was deleted, the system URL, system identifier, and a Restore button.
The source system's assets are stored in the catalog for 90 days, where only users who are catalog administrators can see them. If needed and within 90 days after the deletion date, you can choose to restore the connection. For details, see the section below: Restoring a Connection for a Source System.
-
Manually connected via SAP Datasphere: After 90 days have passed, the source system is permanently deleted from the Remote Systems table and can't be restored. If needed, you can add the source system back as a new source system using the same system information as before. You'll need to redo any enrichments you previously made to the assets, such as editing names or adding relationships to glossary terms or tags.
-
Automatically connected via an SAP Business Data Cloud formation: The source system remains in the Remote Systems table until it is removed from the formation or the formation is delete. If you choose to restore the system after 90 days, you'll need to redo any enrichments you previously made to the assets, such as editing names or adding relationships to glossary terms or tags.

