Emails and Notifications
Assignees, reviewers, additional owners, and viewers of calendar events receive emails and notifications in SAP Analytics Cloud initiated by user actions or time-related settings. Administrators can configure the default settings for all users and allow users to change the settings for themselves.
Configuring the Notification Settings as Administrator
As an administrator, you can configure which in-app notifications or emails about workflows of calendar events are sent to your users.
Procedure
Results
If you turned on the option to group the emails and send them at a specific time and decide to turn off the option later, the summary email will be sent immediately for all emails collected for that day before you turned off the option. If the summary email has already been sent for that day and you disable the option afterwards, all additional emails will be sent in a second summary email for that day.
Next Steps
If you allowed your users to define individual settings for calendar notifications and later want to define them centrally, select Reset Profile Settings. The profile settings for calendar notifications made by the users will be overwritten and the central settings that you define as administrator are used for all users.
Viewing the Notification Settings Defined by Your Administrator
As a user, you can view which in-app notifications or emails about workflows of calendar events are sent to you.
Context
When your administrator has not activated the setting Allow users to change these settings in their profile settings under , you can't change the settings for yourself, but you can still view the centrally defined settings from your user profile settings.
Procedure
Configuring the Notification Settings as a Calendar User
As a user, you can configure which in-app notifications or emails about workflows of calendar events are sent to you.
Prerequisites
Procedure
- From the SAP Analytics Cloud shell bar, select your profile photo and select Settings.
- Select Notifications.
- Under Email Notifications and under In-App Notifications, activate or deactivate Calendar Notifications, depending on which format you prefer to be notified.
- To define the details, select Open Settings Details under Calendar Notification Settings. In the Calendar Notification Settings dialog, you can define the following:
- To close the Profile Settings dialog, choose Close.
Results
If you turned on the option to group the emails and send them at a specific time and decide to turn off the option later, the summary email will be sent immediately for all emails collected for that day before you turned off the option. If the summary email has already been sent for that day and you disable the option afterwards, all additional emails will be sent in a second summary email for that day.
Notification Reasons
Use this reference to learn which actions or time settings for calendar events can initiate notifications.
|
Notification Reason |
Notification |
|---|---|
|
Activate |
Informs the users that they have been assigned to an event and tells them which role they have. The notification is sent when the owner creates and activates an event (manually or automatically) or when the owner adds additional users or replaces users in an existing event and updates the event. The owner who manually activates or updates the event does not receive any notification. However, other owners do receive a notification. |
|
Activate Automatically |
|
|
Cancel |
The users get notified that their event has been canceled. The owner who manually cancels the event does not receive any notification. However, other owners do receive a notification. |
|
Cancel Automatically |
|
|
Delete |
When the owner deletes one or more events by choosing , the users get notified that the event has been deleted. The owner who deletes the event does not receive any notification. However, other owners do receive a notification. |
|
Reopen |
When the owner reopens an event, all events that are directly connected by a dependency or by a hierarchical relationship are also reopened. The users of the affected events get notified that the events are in status Open and can proceed their work. The owner who reopens the event does not receive any notification. However, other owners do receive a notification. |
|
Suspend |
The users get notified that their event has been suspended by the owner. The owner who suspends the event does not receive any notification. However, other owners do receive a notification. |
|
Resume |
The users get notified that their event has been resumed by the owner. The owner who resumes the event does not receive any notification. However, other owners do receive a notification. |
|
Reset |
When the owner resets the setting changes of decoupled occurrences so they match the series settings again, the users get notified accordingly. The owner who resets the changes does not receive any notification. However, other owners do receive a notification. |
|
Update |
When the owner changes individual events or uses the Edit Events wizard to change multiple events, the following notifications are sent:
|
|
Submit |
When the assignees of a calendar event submit their event, the following notifications are sent:
|
|
Approve |
When the assignees of a review task approve the work done in other events, the users get a notification that the task is completed.
When the reviewers of a composite task approve the work of the assignees, the following notifications are sent:
|
|
Agree |
Applies to automatic tasks requesting the assignee to grant permission. Once the assignee agrees, the users (owners and/or viewers) are notified that the task is resumed. |
|
Reject |
The users get notified that the reviewers have rejected the work of the assignees and the task has been reopened. |
|
Decline |
The users get notified that the assignee or reviewer has declined the event. If the assignee declined on behalf of all assignees/reviewers or if there is only one assignee/reviewer, the event is set to On Hold. If the task is an automatic task and the assignee declined the permission request, the task is set to On Hold. The owner can assign someone else. |
|
No Permission Granted |
The assignee of an automatic task doesn't grant permission before the task starts. The users are notified that the task is set to Canceled. |
|
End Date Reached |
Users who are involved in events that have not been completed on time are notified that their event is overdue. Composite tasks: Notifications are sent to the assignees and the reviewers according to the time distribution and only inform the respective role. |
|
Reminder |
An immediate reminder is set or a start date or end date reminder is set and the specified time is reached. Reminder notifications are sent to all users who have not yet started or finished their event.
Owners are notified as follows:
Composite tasks: Notifications are sent to the assignees and reviewers according to the time distribution and only inform the respective role. |
|
Start Permission Request |
The assignee is notified with the ask to give their consent for running an automatic task using their permission. |
|
Start Date Approaching and Pending Permission Request |
An automatic task requesting permission from an assignee is inactive and the start date is approaching. The owners are notified that the start date is approaching, reminding them to activate the task, so the assignee can grant permission in time before the task starts. |
|
Skipped Occurrence |
If there are two preceding occurrences of a series that have been in progress in the last 24 hours, a notification is sent informing users that this occurrence is skipped. These notifications are sent until only one occurrence has status In Progress. |
|
Automatic Task Failed |
The users get notified that their automatic task has failed. |
|
Automatic Task Completed Successfully or Partially Successfully |
The users get notified that their automatic task has been completed partially successfully or successfully. |

