Self-registration means that new users can register themselves at logon.
● If you have not configured user management to use companies, these are full users immediately after registration without the approval of a user administrator.
● If you have configured user management to use companies, these users are guest users. If they specify a company in their registration request, their request must be approved by a user administrator. After approval they have the status of company users. This provides an effective workflow for approving new users.
● To use self-registration with approval, you must enable self-registration.
For more information, see Configuring Self-Registration.
● You have defined companies.
The following figure illustrates the self-registration process with approval.
A new user fills in a form to register him or herself as a user. The user management engine (UME) creates a guest user account. If the user selected a company during registration, the user administrator for this company must approve the user’s registration. Until the administrator approves the user, the user has guest user status. Rejected users are not removed from the system. They keep the status of guest users and are assigned to the guest user company, if one exists.
Approval is only necessary if users register themselves as company users. When a user administrator creates a company user, no further approval is necessary.
After self-registration, users get a confirmation of registration to the e-mail address they entered during registration.
User administrators can approve or reject users by choosing New User Requests in identity management.
For more information, see Approving or Rejecting Users.