To ensure that the data that is going to be loaded with an InfoPackage is available only once in an InfoCube, you can delete from the InfoCube any existing requests that have partially overlapping or similar selection conditions and relevant deletion selections.
After loading new data into the InfoCube, the InfoCube contents are checked using the selection conditions for an InfoSource/DataSource/source system combination to see if overlapping data has been loaded into the InfoCube. The data that has been loaded into the InfoCube is not analyzed rather the selection conditions for the InfoObjects that you determined in the Scheduler are compared.
With this function the dataset in BW is reduced to the size necessary for analysis, and redundancies are avoided.
You select the variable deletion conditions when you schedule the InfoPackage that is going to load the new data. On the Data Targets tab page in the Automatic Deletion of Similar/Same Requests from InfoCube column, you click on the pushbutton to go to the Deletion of Requests from the InfoCube After Update dialog box.
Here you determine under which conditions existing requests are deleted from the InfoCube:
You can include update modes, InfoSources, DataSources, and source systems for requests.
Requests are deleted when the appropriate deletion conditions are met if existing requests and new ones were loaded from the same DataSource.
You can determine whether the selections for the new request need to be the same as or more comprehensive than the selections of the request that is to be deleted, or whether the selections for the new request need to completely or partially overlap the selections of the request that is to be deleted.
You can specify deletion restrictions according to date. This means that, when the deletion conditions are met, only those requests that were loaded within a specific time period are actually deleted.
If you choose Data for the Request from the Last Seven Days, only those requests are deleted that have been loaded in the last seven days.
You can specify situations in which a request is not to be deleted, even if the appropriate deletion conditions are in place.
Under Exceptions, if you choose the option Today is …the Last Day of a Month, existing requests are not deleted if the new request is loaded on the last day of a month.
Another option for determining deletion conditions is creating a user routine for the InfoPackage and the InfoCube. In this routine you can exclude requests from a deletion process or include additional requests for deletion.
The deletion and cancellation processes are carried out automatically only after the new request has been loaded successfully.
If the request is not compressed, it is deleted. A request is cancelled only if, due to a compression, deletion is no longer an option (because the request number is no longer transparent.) You can only cancel a request if no exception aggregation has been defined in the InfoCube or in the update rules and all InfoObjects are updated with summation.
Under the path, you can specify whether or not you want the system to display a warning in the Scheduler when requests are about to be cancelled or deleted.
Process Variant: Deleting Overlapping Requests from an InfoCube
In the variants maintenance screen for the Delete Overlapping Requests from InfoCube process, choose the Execute InfoPackage object type and select the InfoPackages that you want to use. In order for the deletion to be executed, the InfoPackages specified here must be included in the process chain in which this process variant is executed and be listed in front of the process variant for deletion.
You can now choose whether you want to copy the deletion conditions from the InfoPackages or whether you would like to define the deletion conditions for the InfoCubes of the InfoPackages in variant maintenance.
If you use the process chain to specify the conditions for automatic deletion, these conditions are applied to all the InfoCubes for the selected InfoPackages.
If you specify in the Scheduler the conditions for automatic deletion, these conditions are applied to the InfoCube that you also selected in the Scheduler.