Show TOC

Function documentationCentral Sharing Tool

 

You can use the Central Sharing Tool to share items with other users, organizational units, positions or business roles. You can share the following items:

  • Tags

    For information, see Tag Clouds.

  • Favorites

    For information, see Favorites.

  • Saved searches

  • Favorite reports

When sharing an item, you can enter a message for the recipient. The recipient can view the shared items in their Inbox.

For the description of the saved searches, translation is not available.

Integration

You can access the Central Sharing Tool using a new system link (Share) that is available in the header area. You can also make the function available in the navigation bar. On the home page of your business role, you can display the My Sharebox content block, which displays the folders that contain the shared items: Inbox and Sent.

You can make the Central Sharing Tool available on your home page as an application link using the central personalization.

Prerequisites

Customizing

You have enabled the Central Sharing Tool for business roles in Customizing for UI Framework under Start of the navigation path Technical Role Definition Next navigation step Define Function Profile End of the navigation path and you have defined the level of authorization for the business role:

  • Standard sharer

    Can share items. The authorization to receive shared items is included in a sharer's authorizations.

  • Supersharer

    Can copy shared saved searches to the recipient's saved searches.

  • Recipient with limited authorizations

    Can receive shared items, but cannot delete shared items from the Inbox.

  • Recipient

    Can receive shared items.

To enable the usage of the Central Sharing Tool in a business role, you have assigned the function profile CENTRAL_SHARING_TOOL to your business role in Customizing for UI Framework under Start of the navigation path Business Roles Next navigation step Define Business Role End of the navigation path.

UI Component Workbench

If the My Sharebox content block is not available in the home page personalization of your business role, you can make it available as follows:

  1. Open the UI Component Workbench by using the transaction code BSP_WD_CMPWB.

  2. Open the UI component where your home page resides, and open the Runtime Repository Editor.

  3. Add UI component WCF_UST_SH_BOX in your component usages with outbound plug UST.

  4. Delegate the outbound plug to your window. Then, in the mapped outbound plug, add the following code:

    Syntax Syntax

    1. me->fire_outbound_plug( iv_outbound_plug = 'UST'
    2. iv_data_collection = iv_data_collection ).
    End of the code.
  5. Add <usageName>.WCF_UST_SH_BOX/MainWindow as a view in your home page view set.

To display the My Sharebox content block on the home page, you have to add the content block to the displayed content blocks in the page configuration.

Activities

Sharing and Receiving Items

You can:

  • Share items with users, organizational units, positions or business roles

  • View the messages that the sharer has attached to the item

  • Search shared items and filter the search results, and you can also forward the search results

  • Forward items you sent or received to other users by choosing the relevant icon left of the shared item

  • Make received saved searches available in the central search by choosing the relevant icon left of the shared item

    A saved search that was received as a shared item keeps a dependency with its original saved search. That is, if the sharer changes the original saved search, the recipient's saved search is also updated. For saved searches, you share only the search criteria, but not the search result.

  • When sharing a saved search, a supersharer can make this saved search available in the central search of the recipient. The users who receive the shared items can remove the received saved search from their central search.

Personalizing the My Sharebox Content Block

In the personalization of the My Sharebox content block, you can:

  • Delete shared items. The item is also deleted in the recipient’s Inbox

  • Create new folders below the Inbox and Sent root folders

  • Rename and delete folders that you have created

  • Move items up and down within a root folder

  • Select and forward multiple shared items

  • Cut and paste items and folders that you have created