Scheduling Reorganization 

Use

In the Business Workplace, documents must be reorganized regularly, that is, deleted from the database. If documents are deleted from the folders and trash of the Business Workplace, only the pointer from the folder to the document is deleted. All documents which no longer have a pointer are deleted from the system in the reorganization. The document content, document attributes and recipient information are deleted.

Two reorganization programs are available: Reorganization (RSSORE00) and daily reorganization (RSSORE02), which does not reduce system performance as much. You can run a log for daily reorganization in order to obtain an overview of the number of documents deleted in the time period. If you schedule daily reorganization, you should also execute the complete reorganization from time to time (once a month, for example). For test purposes, you can start the reorganization programs manually - without the flag Run with database change.

Procedure

Scheduling daily reorganization

Create a job that starts the program RSSORE00. For further information on scheduling background jobs, see the documentation on BC - Computing Center Management System.

Starting daily reorganization manually

  1. Call transaction SO31.
  2. Specify whether a test run only without database changes is to be started or whether the documents are to actually be deleted directly from the database.
  3. Choose Program ® Execute in the background.

Running a log for daily reorganization

Select Daily reorg on the tab page Document organization in shared office settings.

Scheduling reorganization as a background job

Create a job that starts the program RSSORE00 as a background job with the required variant and at the required times. For further information on scheduling background jobs, see the documentation on BC - Computing Center Management System.

Starting reorganization manually

  1. Call transaction SO30.
  2. To start the program with a variant, choose and select the required variant from the following list by double-clicking on it.

Otherwise, specify:

If you only want to reorganize objects of a certain type, enter the required type.

All objects which were created during the specified period will be reorganized.

This selection means that the reorganization will actually be executed. If you do not mark this field, only a test run will take place.

  1. Choose Program ® Execute in the background.

As a result, you will receive a list of the document classes for each year with information about how many documents still exist and how many were deleted.