Show TOC

Procedure documentationMaintaining SAP Attributes on the Attributes Tab Page


You maintain the SAP attributes of a test script or a test configuration (either eCATT or created with a third-party test tool). You edit, for example, the application component or system data container.

If you have created the test script with a third party test tool, on the Test Tool Attributes tab page you can see the test tool attributes. For more information, see Configuring Test Tool Attributes.



  1. Choose the Attributes tab page.

    If you have created the test script with a third party test tool, the Attributes tab page is divided into two sub-pages, SAP Attributes and Test Tool Attributes.

  2. Optional: To display the attributes of a test script created with a third party test tool, you can choose the Test Tool Attributes tab page. These attributes are read-only. They are filled in during recording.

    For more information about the attributes of test tools, see Configuring Test Tool Attributes.

  3. To edit SAP attributes, do the following:

    1. Choose the SAP Attributes tab page.

    2. If you edit a test configuration, to toggle between editing the attributes of the test configuration or of the test script, select the respective Show Data radio button. Enter the test configuration attributes first. You can maintain the test script attributes later.

    3. Specify the Application Component

      The application component is usually the same as that of the tested applications, but you can specify any application component.

    4. Enter the following data to describe the test script or test configuration.

      • Optional: Person responsible: By default, the current user is the person responsible for the test case.

      • System data container: You define the system landscape in which the test script or test configuration is to be executed. In this way, you can execute the same test case in different physical systems. For more information, see Creating a System Data Container in the Test Automation Framework.

        By default, the system data container of the project or solution of the SAP Solution Manager context is proposed, if there is one.

      • Target component: A target component corresponds to one entry in the system data container. It defines:

        • a single managed system if an RFC or HTTP destination is used

        – or –

        • a set of systems if a logical component is used. In this case, the current system role (or context) is used to select the system from the logical component.

        The target component allows the system to know on which system the test is be recorded or executed.

        To check whether you can log on to the specified target system, whether a target component is available and whether an exact connection can be derived based on the system role, choose Logon.

        Note Note

        Ensure that the test can be performed. Before recording, for example, a sales order, ensure that the corresponding products are in stock.

        End of the note.
    5. Assign the executable which corresponds to the application to be tested. For more information, see Executable Types.

    6. If you use CBTA: Assign a test profile.

      This allows the CBTA test recorder and player to access the SUT (via an RFC destination, HTTP destination or URL) and to log on to it (user and password). For more information, see Creating a Test Profile With Logon Data for SUTs.

    7. Optional: Define the eCATT test case attributes:

      • Status: The status is set to active is by default. Only active scripts are included in automatic tests. If you do not want the test script to be executed (it is not yet finished, or you are modifying it, for example), set the status to inactive.

      • Release Status: To find an eCATT test case via the F4 help, you can assign a release status. The release status is for information purposes only.

      • Time Required: Enter the time that the test configuration is supposed to take.

      • Priority: If you assign a weighting to the test status evaluation, test cases of different priority can have different weight. For example if priority High is attributed with a weight of 10 and priority Low with a weight 1, during status evaluation a high priority test case is counted as 10. If it is in error, the status evaluation displays 10 test cases with errors.