Self-registration means that new users can register themselves at logon. In the standard configuration, the User Management Engine (UME) is set up to allow a basic form of self-registration. In the logon screen, users can choose to register themselves by filling out a form. After registration they are registered users and can access all content that is assigned to the default group Everyone. They do not have to be approved by an administrator. To set up self-registration with an approval workflow, you must configure user management to use companies.
For more information about self-registration, see Configuring Self-Registration.