Blocking a Customer Account
In Accounts Receivable you can block a customer account so that postings are no longer made to that account. You have to block a customer account before marking a customer master record for deletion, for example. You would also block a customer that you use only as an alternative dunning recipient, so that nobody can post to that customer by mistake.
If you have also implemented the Sales and Distribution (SD) application component, you can set the following blocks for a customer:
For more information, see the Sales and Distribution (SD) documentation.
Only block an account if there are no more open items in the account. Otherwise, you can no longer clear the open items.
This topic describes how to block a customer account centrally (for posting and order processing), and how to block an account for posting only. Whether you block centrally or for posting only, you can block the customer account in one company code or in all company codes. You can also block an account for dunning and paying.
You can cancel a customer account block at any time. To do this, simply remove the relevant indicator.
To carry out the following maintenance function...
|Blocking a Customer Account Centrally||
Master records -> Maintain centrally -> Block
|Blocking a Customer Account for Posting||
From the Accounts receivable main menu, choose Master records -> Block/unblock
|Blocking a Customer Account for Payments and Dunning Notices||
From the Accounts receivable main menu, choose Master records -> Change, and choose Payment transactions (for the payment block) or Correspondence (for the dunning block). Then enter the relevant key in the Payment block or Dunning block field.