Storing Original Application Files
Original application files that have reached a processing status that requires them to be stored securely can be stored manually in a secure area. Another advantage is that other users with the correct authorization can access the files.
If you have defined in the document type that original application files are stored using the Knowledge Provider, you can simplify storage by specifying that the originals are transferred to a secure area by setting a certain status. You also make this setting in the document type.
Note that for document management on the PLM Web UI, you can store original application files only using the Knowledge Provider.
In Customizing for Document Management
, you define statuses for the document types by choosing and then Define Document Status
. You define that original files are automatically checked into a storage category by selecting the Check in
checkbox for the selected status.
You have defined that the Knowledge Provider is used to store the original application files by selecting the Use KPro
checkbox in Customizing for Document Management
under .
The automatic storage of the original application files is carried out in a storage category of your storage system. The system determines where each individual original application file is to be saved as follows:
If the original has already been stored in a secure area, the system enters this as the default storage location.
If the original has not yet been stored in a secure area, the system displays the Storage data
dialog box where you can enter the secure area.
You can enter a default value for storage in the user-specific settings.
Set the Automatic storage of originals
indicator for the status in Customizing (for example, for the “For checking” status).
Process the document info record and the assigned original application files. Once you have reached a processing status that you want to transfer to a secure area, set the relevant status (for example, the “For checking” status). As soon as the status is saved for the document, the system transfers all original application files to the secure area.