Document Retention and Expiry

You can use document retention and expiry option for all the documents that are uploaded to a collaboration. It is applicable to both default and custom storage.

Prerequisites:

  • You have the solution administrator privileges. For more information, see Shared Documents.

  • You have added a job scheduler. For more information, see Working with Job Scheduling. This is only for custom storage.

  • The document retention and expiry feature option is enabled for the collaboration type.

Attributes

In default storage, when you set the feature for documents, they are treated as follows:

  • Retain documents for a defined number of days.

  • Autodelete documents after the defined number of days.
In default storage, when the number of days for document expiry is set, documents are retained as follows:
  • Documents can't be modified or deleted.

  • Document properties can't be edited.

  • Documents can't be deleted manually. They can be deleted only via the autodelete setting.

  • The collaboration can't be deleted until all included documents are autodeleted.

  • When a document is within 48 hours of the set autodelete date, thedocument owner is notified by e-mail.

Allow Override

In a collaboration type, if the Allow override option is enabled, you can modify the number of days that are specified only when you create a new collaboration.

Scenario 1: Document expiry feature is disabled

The document retention and expiry feature is disabled for the collaboration type:
  • Documents are not autodeleted. They can be modified or deleted manually any time.

  • Collaborations can be deleted manually at any time.

Scenario 2: Document expiry feature is enabled and Allow Override feature is disabled

The document retention and expiry feature is enabled for the collaboration type with Allow override feature disabled.

Adding or modifying the number of days in the Document Expiry field for a collaboration type impacts applies only to the new documents or files uploaded to the corresponding linked collaborations:

The table below explains the impact of enabling Document Expiry in existing collaboration types compared to the new impact on new collaboration types.

Impact on documents in a collaboration

Collaboration Type

Collaboration

Document/file

Action on document once it reaches expiry date

Existing before document expiry is enabled

Existing before document expiry is enabled

Existing before document expiry is enabled

No change

(Must be manually deleted)

Existing before document expiry is enabled

Newly added after enabling document expiry

Newly added after enabling document expiry

Autodeleted

Newly added after enabling document expiry

Newly added after enabling document expiry

Newly added after enabling document expiry

Autodeleted

Scenario 3 (a): Document Expiry with Allow Override feature is enabled. User chooses not to change the set number of days

The Document Retention and Expiry feature with Allow override is enabled for the collaboration type.

Although the Allow override option is enabled, the user does not modify the set the number of days for document expiry.

User's action is not considered as an override. The impact on documents in a collaboration will be the same as in Scenario 2.

Scenario 3 (b): Document Expiry feature with Allow Override is enabled. User chooses to change the set number of days

The collaboration administrator has enabled the Document Retention and Expiry feature with the Allow override enabled for the collaboration type.

User chooses to use the Allow override option enabled and modifies the number of days to expiry that was set by the collaboration administrator. The user also adds a new collaboration.

Collaboration Type

Collaboration

Document/File

Action on document once it reaches expiry date

AAAA

TestDocumentCollaboration1

File1

Autodeleted after 40 days

AAAA

TestDocumentCollaboration1

File2

Autodeleted after 40 days

AAAA

TestDocumentCollaboration2

File3

Autodeleted after 60 days

AAAA

TestDocumentCollaboration2

File4

Autodeleted after 60 days