Deleting Master Data

 

You can use the functions that follow for deleting master data for the following objects:

  • Cost centers

    You can delete cost centers individually or with collective processing.

  • Business processes

  • Activity types

Note Note

You cannot delete cost elements.

End of the note.

Prerequisites

You can only delete each object in the current controlling area once the following has been done:

Object

Prerequisites

Cost center

There is no transaction data for the cost elements in the planning or commitments data in the affected fiscal years:

No statistical key figures have been planned.

Activity type

There is no transaction data for the activity types in the planning or commitments data in the affected fiscal years.

No statistical key figures have been planned.

Business processes

There is no transaction data for the business processes in the planning or actual data in the affected fiscal years.

No statistical key figures have been planned.

The corresponding checks are executed by the system.

Procedure

  1. To delete individual objects, choose the Master Data option for the relevant application from the SAP Easy Access Menu, and then Start of the navigation path <Object> Next navigation step Individual Processing Next navigation step Delete End of the navigation path.

  2. To delete a single object, enter it in the initial screen.

    To delete more than one object, enter the selection criteria for the objects in the initial screen. The following selection criteria are available for activity types:

    1. <Object> or <Object>interval

    2. <Object> group

    3. All <objects> in a controlling area

    4. Selection variant

    You save selection criteria for the object selection in the selection variant. You can use the selection variant to select all objects with the same entries in one or more master data fields.

    You can create, change or display the selection variant at this point.

    Select one of the criteria and enter the appropriate selection parameters.

  3. Enter a time period in which the selected objects are valid.

    Note Note

    Objects that you want to delete must be in the selected time period. However, it is sufficient for the validity period of the object to overlap with the selected time period.

    End of the note.

    Deleting Objects Online

    1. Before deleting objects, you should execute a test run to see whether dependent data exists that prevents deletion of any of the selected objects.

      • To start a test run, accept the default values for the Test run and choose Execute.

      • The system carries out comprehensive checks on dependent data.

        The system displays a list of all the objects that you can delete.

        The system then displays a list of all the selected objects that you cannot delete. For each object, the system displays the dependent data that prevents deletion.

        The list display uses the ABAP list viewer.

      • Go back to the initial screen and correct the entries, if required.

    2. To delete the objects, deselect Test run and choose Execute. Answer the confirmation prompt with Yes.

      The system lists the objects that were deleted.

      It also lists the objects that were not deleted. The dependent data that prevented the deletion is shown.

      The list display uses the ABAP list viewer.

    Deleting Objects in the Background

    If you want to delete a large number of objects, the checks for dependent data require a long runtime. You should therefore carry out the deletion in the background at times of low system usage.

    1. Choose Start of the navigation path Background Processing Next navigation step Execute End of the navigation path. Answer the confirmation prompt with Yes.

    2. Enter a job name in the dialog box.

    3. Enter a date and time for the planned start, or select Immediate start.

      You can also define from which date and from which time no more starts should occur.

    4. Leave the dialog box by choosing Confirm.

    5. In the next dialog box, choose Save.

      The objects are deleted at the specified time.

      To check the current status of the job, choose Start of the navigation path System Next navigation step Own Jobs End of the navigation path.