About Version Management
The Version Management panel allows you to create and copy different versions of data. It also allows you to control who sees those versions.
Version management () allows you to use the existing categories in a table to create new private versions. It also allows you to change the category when you create a new public version.
A version is a set of data from the database, viewed in a table. To control who can access a version, you make the versions public, private, or shared.
- Rolling Forecast
In a table or a chart, the Category dimension acts as a container for the different public and private versions that are available to you. (Some data sources refer to this as a Version dimension instead of a Category dimension.)
Data is not aggregated across different versions in the Category dimension. When the Category dimension is added to an axis of a table or chart, you can display multiple versions. When the Category dimension is removed from the axis, you work with a single public or private version.
If you have defined one or more calculations that restrict the Category dimension to a single version, these restricted measures act as a filter on the Category dimension. When you remove the Category dimension from a table axis, you are not prompted to filter the table to one version. Instead, the table displays only the calculations that restrict the Category dimension, and calculations based on that dimension.
Public versions are stored in the raw model data in the database.
Access to this data is controlled by data privileges. If data access control is enabled for a dimension, a user must be assigned the proper privileges in the Modeler to be able to view and edit values. In the modeler, users can also restrict view and edit permissions for public versions.
Private versions are only visible to the creator or owner of the model.
Use private versions to change or simulate plan values without making the changes visible to anyone else. When you save a private version, it gets changed to a public version, and the private version is dropped.
Shared versions are private versions that you allow other people to see.
You can choose to let other users read your shared data, or you can allow them to read and write the shared data. When you share a version with multiple users and want to remove one of them, you must unshare the version and then re-share it.
The Version Management panel shows several options for working with the versions.
|(More)||Undo||Undo the last change.|
|Redo||Redo (reapply) the change that was undone.|
|History||Open the History panel to see a list of changes.|
|Revert Changes||Removes unsaved changes and resets the public version.|
|Delete||Deletes the version.|
|Details||The following information is displayed in the
|(Copy)||Creates a private version.|
|(Save)||Save||Saves your work as an update to a public version|
|Save As||Creates a new public version.|