Getting Sample Content and Business Content
To help you get started, SAP Analytics Cloud provides a library with packages of technical samples and templates as well as end-to-end sample business scenarios for specific industries and lines of business.
The content library is not available for Trial users.
Use of this content is optional. You can browse the content and choose packages to add to your system from within the application. For detailed documentation on all business package content, see the SAP Analytics Cloud Content Documentation.
- Select .
- On the left pane, choose Content Library.
Choose the type of content that you want to add:
- Technical Samples: A collection of technical samples for stories and boardroom agendas as well as templates to easily create your own layouts.
- Business Content: End-to-end business scenarios for various industries and lines of business. This content comes ready to run with sample data or live data connections.
A list of available packages is displayed. Any package that you have already imported to your system shows a check mark in the Imported column.
Select the package that you want to add to your system.
An overview of the content appears.
- Select the Publishing tab to specify settings for importing the content.
Under Import Schedule, select one of the following
options to specify what happens when the package is updated in the content
- None: No updates are made on your system. This option is automatically selected for packages that cannot be updated in the content library.
- Notify for new content: You receive a notification and can choose whether to import the new version of the package to your system.
- Automatically update new content: The updated package is automatically imported to your system.
Select an option for the Import Overwrite Settings.
If an object selected for import does not exist on your system, the object will be created and its data will be imported. For objects that already exist in your system, the Import Overwrite Settings determine whether to update the object and its data.NoteDepending on your selection, if the package contains any files or objects with the same ID as a file or object in your system, the version on your system may be deleted and replaced by the imported content, or updated with new data. To avoid accidental loss of changes or enhancements to the sample content, follow the instructions in the Next Steps section.
- Only Import and Update Data:
This setting may be appropriate if you have made changes to the structure of an imported model, and want to avoid losing those changes.
For objects that already exist in your system, data is imported into each object, but the objects themselves are not updated.
The Privacy and Enable Data Access Control settings for models, as well as the permission settings for users and roles, remain unchanged.
- Import Only New Content:
This setting prevents any existing objects in your system from being overwritten or updated with new data. You are notified if any of the objects selected for import already exist in your system.
For example, you can choose this setting if you have replaced the data in an imported model with your own data, and want to avoid overwriting this data.
- Import and Update All Content (excluding permissions):
If an object selected for import already exists on your system, the object on your system is overwritten and its data is updated.
For models, however, the setting of the Privacy flag and the access permissions assigned to roles remain unchanged during the import.
- Import and Overwrite All Content (including permissions):
If an object selected for import already exists on your system, the object on your system is overwritten and its data is updated. For imported models and dimensions, the Privacy setting and Data Access Control setting are updated by the imported content, and the corresponding permissions assigned to each role are reset.
For example, you may choose this option if you are not using any of the content for business tasks.
- Only Import and Update Data:
Select the Content tab to choose which objects to
import, and whether to include the data for each imported dimension and model.
You can select and deselect individual objects, or types of objects (for example, Models or Stories).
Your selection for the Import Overwrite Settings may prevent some objects or data from being imported if they already exists on your system.
- Select Import.
Confirm your Import.
The import process begins. You receive a notification when the process is complete, or if an error occurs.
To view the log of updates and imports for a package, select the package in the content library and choose (History).
Because sample content in your system can be deleted and replaced if the content is imported again with certain Import Overwrite Settings, it is recommended not to use the imported content for business tasks, except for live models. Instead, copy the imported content before using it.
Follow these guidelines before using the content for business tasks:
Do not save files in the folders that are imported with the sample content. Objects saved in these folders may be accidentally deleted if the content is imported again.
Digital Boardroom Dashboards
For more information on importing stories, adding pages, and creating direct links for Digital Boardrooms, see Creating Digital Boardroom Dashboards.
Video: Get sample content and business content
This video tutorial guides you through the process of importing sample content and business content.