Sharing an Import Data Connection
You can share a connection with other users, which will allow them to create models based on the connection, as well as delete and refresh data sources that are based on the connection.
- SAP BW
- SAP BPC
- Google Drive
- Google BigQuery
- OData Services
- SAP Cloud for Customer
- SAP Business ByDesign Analytics
- SAP SuccessFactors
- SAP S/4 HANA
- File Server
To Share a Connection:
- From the connection page, select an existing connection that supports sharing.
- Select the
The Share Connection window appears.
- Select the users or teams that you want to share the connection with.
You can also type All Users to share the connection with all the users in your system.
- Select the access rights you want to grant to the selected users:
- Read – Users cannot edit, delete, or share the connection.
- Edit – Users can edit the connection details but cannot delete or share the connection.
- Select Share.
The connection is shared with the users you selected. They will only be able to use the connection to create models and data sources. When using the connection to connect to the database or external system where the data is stored, your credentials will be used. In some cases, you can share a connection without sharing your credentials, prompting users to enter their own credentials in order to use the connection.
The (Share) icon appears next to the connection that has been shared.
To Stop Sharing a Connection:
- Select the connection, then select the (Share) icon.
- Expand the Shared With list and select the users or teams you want to unshare the connection with.
- Select the (Delete) icon.
When the connection is unshared, users can no longer see the connection and can no longer refresh or delete data sources associated with that connection.