This function is used to publish documents for a defined time interval. You define a ‘valid from’ and ‘valid until’ date for each document. Documents are visible to all users with read permission during this period of time. Before and after these times, the documents are visible only to users with write permission.
To activate the Time-Dependent Publishing function, you require write permission for the folder in question.
In order to set the lifetime of a document, you must first activate the Time-Dependent Publishing function for the folder. You must make this setting individually for each folder.
If time-dependent publishing is active for a folder, the documents contained therein are visible for users with read permission only within the defined lifetime.
You define a lifetime for each document individually. If time-dependent publishing is active, the Valid From and Valid Until fields are displayed in the document properties (Details → Settings → Properties → Lifetime).
If you create a new document and do not enter values for Valid From and Valid Until, the document is initially only visible to users with write permission.
The first time that you display the Properties dialog box, both fields are filled with the current date and time. If you now save the properties without changing the values, the document is still only visible to users with write permission.
The document becomes visible to users with read permission when the Valid From time is reached. At this point, people who have subscribed are notified about the publication of the document. The document can then be found using the search function or by searching in categories.
Time-dependent publishing can give rise to delays of up to 15 minutes. This is caused by the scheduler pulse. This means that if you have specified 8am in the Valid From field, the document is visible by 8.15am at the latest.
The document becomes invisible to users with read permission when the Valid Until time is reached. The document is not deleted. Users with write permission can still see the document.
If you enter a time that lies in the past in the Valid Until field and then try to save your changes, the system displays an error message. You can only save your changes once you have corrected the date.
If the date and time in the Valid From and Valid Until fields are identical, the system does not display an error message. In this case, the document is visible only to users with write permission.
If you publish documents time-dependently, there is not normally an approval process. Time-dependent publishing can, however, be combined with an approval process.
If you want to publish both time-dependently and with an approval process, a document can only be viewed by people with read permission if it is valid and if all approval steps have been successfully completed.
To activate time-dependent publishing for a folder, choose Settings → Lifetime in the Details dialog box for the folder. Click Activate Time-Dependent Publishing.
To define the lifetime of a document, choose Settings → Properties → Lifetime in the Details dialog box for the document. Enter a date and time in the Valid From and Valid Until fields.