Select language:
Entering content frame!--a11y-->

Function documentation Workflow Configuration 

Use

To adapt an SAP Workflow, you can create a configuration. In this configuration you can redefine values for every step of the workflow definition. These values are evaluated at runtime instead of the values originally defined.

You can create a separate workflow configuration for every version of the workflow definition. A workflow configuration can be independently activated. When a workflow is executed, the workflow system checks whether an active workflow configuration exists for this version. If one exists, the data in the workflow configuration takes precedence over the data in the workflow definition.

Note

If an input field in the workflow configuration does not contain an entry, the entry in the workflow definition is used. You cannot label any input fields in the workflow configuration as empty fields.

Features

You can set the following data individually in a step definition:

Responsible agents
  • Excluded agents
  • Message recipient for completion
  • Priority
  • Requested start
  • Indicator denoting whether the step is included in the workflow log
  • Activation of a latest end, a latest start, or a requested end with the reaction Send mail
  • Reference date/time for latest end, latest start, and requested end
  • Message recipient for missed deadline
  • Information about the work item display
  • Note

    The following step types cannot be configured:

    • Web activity
    • Fork
    • WHILE loop
    • UNTIL loop
    • Ad hoc anchor
    • Condition
    • Multiple condition
    • Container operation

    Activities

    You start workflow configuration by choosing Tools ® Business Workflow ® Development ® Definition Tools ® Workflow Configuration. This displays the screen Process Workflow Configuration for 'workflow name'. Using a workflow configuration is like using the

    Workflow Builder. Double-clicking on a step in the workflow definition displays the step definition, where you can enter values. These values are then used at runtime instead of the values defined in the workflow definition.

    Once you have saved a workflow configuration for a workflow, it is active. To delete the configuration, choose Configuration ® Delete.

    If a workflow configuration exists for a workflow definition, this is apparent in the Workflow Builder when you check the workflow . The workflow configuration belongs to the workflow version for which it was created. If a new version is created, the new version also has this configuration.

    Note

    A workflow configuration is client-specific. For more information on workflow configuration transport, see

    Transport and Client Copy. Leaving content frame